#NCTE12: In which I gain new books and have my picture taken with some amazing people.

I learned a lot and had a great time at the 2012 National Council of Teachers of English annual conference in Las Vegas.  I’m both energized and exhausted.  So, this blog post will be mostly pictures, with more to be added later.

Thanks to everyone who made this such an incredible experience.

See You at Harry’s is one of my favorite books from the past year, and I hoped to cross paths with its author, Jo Knowles.  Mission accomplished!  We had a nice chat in the Exhibition Hall, and I hope that book keeps getting a lot of well-deserved attention.

 

 

 

 

Here are two of my teacher heroes, Penny Kittle and Jim Burke.  They are wise and incredibly generous people who positively affect teachers and students everywhere.

 

 

Lemony Snicket sent his representative, Daniel Handler.  Daniel was charming and snarky, inscribing a Lemony book to my daughter Grace, “a future orphan.”  Nice.

 

What a thrill to meet Sir Ken Robinson (center), along with Amy Rasmussen, Tony Romano, and Leslie Healey.

 

Here are some of the books I picked up in the Exhibition Hall.  Thanks to the publishers who provide these freebies for conference attendees.

More pictures coming soon …

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #NCTE12: In which I gain new books and have my picture taken with some amazing people.

  1. So glad you got that pic with Jo Knowles! Wow, what a book, See You at Harry’s. What a weekend you had. Hope to hear more about it!

    Like

  2. Jo Knowles says:

    It was wonderful to meet you! Thank you for being such a great advocate for See You at Harry’s. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

