Guest Blogger: Grace Anderson on “I Have a Dream”

This week our fifth-grade daughter Grace was assigned to write and illustrate her own version of Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech. I thought Grace’s writing and illustration were beautiful, so I’m grateful that she allowed me to use them here in honor of the Martin Luther King holiday. It’s never too early or too late to have a dream, and the bigger the dream the better.

grace blog I have a dream that in our world of electronics, kids and adults alike will step away from the gadgets that are constantly controlling our minds. They attack us and pry us into their trap, into their hands. And that we will step outside and enjoy the sunshine of freedom.

I have a dream that kids will go and lay in the short dew wet grass and look up at the cotton ball clouds and smiling blue sky. May the sun blind their eyes and the wind whip their faces. May the birds sing sweet songs and the bees buzz in the breeze. And let them enjoy it.

I have a dream that technology will be used only for the benefit of mankind. It will be devoted to hospitals and learning communities. Video games will be reduced to a minimum.

I have a dream that all the kids in my class will grow up to be whatever they want to be, whether it is painting or acting or dancing or running or teaching. May their heart find its passion, create it as a dream and then fight to get there. I hope they all have bright futures ahead of them.

I have a dream that peoples’ lives will be filled with music, whether it is classical or punk, hip-hop or jazz. I hope everyone will be swaying to their own beat. Our feet might start to move and then we will realize that our arms are moving and that we are dancing.

I have a dream that sidewalks will be filled with feet and paws and not garbage. I hope that everyone will pick up trash and put it in a nearby recycling bin or, if it’s not recyclable, trashcan. The sidewalks will be cleaner and our trash dumps will be smaller.

I have a dream that people will relax and not let their schedules be full. Our calendars are filled with activity after activity. They are screaming at us because they are so overloaded. I hope that we will have one or two things to attend and not four or five. I believe that this will let stress just melt away into relaxation. It will allow time to read, write, and learn new things.

I believe that if we accomplish these things, our lives will be easier and calmer. We will have time to do what we want. We will play and laugh with our friends. This is good because laughter brings smiles, and smiles are what make the world go ‘round.
Grace. I have a dream

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guest Blogger: Grace Anderson on “I Have a Dream”

  1. Glenda says:

    WOW! Grace’s writing is amazing, and what a passionate voice. Gary, I can picture this essay as a picture book. You really need to look into that. Well done, grace!

    Like

  2. Beautiful words, Grace! So that’s what happens to kids who grow up in the Anderson household, huh? Parenting tips, please, because Grace is turning out just as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside. If enough kids in Grace’s generation have as much heart as she does, as much understanding of our society at such a young age, then we ARE looking at a future with enough smiles to make the world go ’round. She made me smile.
    🙂

    Like

  3. Incredible, Grace! I love your description of the “short dew wet grass.” You made me remember that feeling. I hope your dreams come true! 🙂

    Like

  4. Great post, Grace! I think you not only kept the integrity of the original speech but provided great dreams for future generations. My favorite line was, “our feet might start to move, and then we will realize that our arms are moving and that we are dancing.” Beautifully written. This definitely brightened my day.

    Like

  5. Mirthala Gilkey says:

    Grace, you and I share the same dreams! You are adorable. Thanks for sharing.
    Mirty

    Like

  6. Sana says:

    Reblogged this on Interfaith Youth Activist and commented:
    Happy MLK Day weekend! We’re excited in DC to be able to serve on the National Day of Service, and also enjoy the Inauguration festivities! I’m leaving you with this inspiring speech by a fifth grader named Grace, blogged on What’s Not Wrong?

    Like

  7. Sheila Saccomanno says:

    That was simply amazing…Amazing Grace! Great dreams can become realities…my wish is that your dreams do come true. Bravo!

    Like

  8. This is beautiful Gary. I would never have guessed that Grace was only in fifth grade from reading this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

